The Pregnancy Campaign (a.k.a. The Titular Post)

I was up late last night reading one of the twenty pregnancy books on my nightstand when I was reinforced with the idea that I should keep a journal of my experiences of being pregnant. Apparently, most of the first trimester disappears from memory? My good friend (and fellow blogger) Jackie has mentioned this, too. I trust her advice as she recently was blessed with her second beautiful child and our pregnancy experiences have had many similarities.

It makes sense, right? You go through pregnancy and labor and when the doctor places that baby in your arms all the pain and suffering just melts away. I think that’s what happens…?

But here’s the thing: The other day I was complaining to a coworker about the myths/illusions/cliches of pregnancy (and specifically, morning sickness- BLEEEH). Seriously, I don’t think anyone is really prepared for what pregnancy is like or can be. I don’t remember seeing a public service announcement about it, much less a campaign about the truth.

So I’m going to document my own experiences on the topic. I’m not sure if it will really be helpful to anyone, but if it IS true that these memories will fade, then I think I’ll keep type it down.

After all, I don’t want to forget the first trimester!! All of that FUN!!! and excitement!!! and feeling good!!

[oh wait. If anyone should stumble upon this and have had a pregnancy or are in a pregnancy where you were/are NOT sick in the first trimester….I don’t want to hear it.]

Here I go.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stephaniebante
    Mar 12, 2013 @ 13:36:53

    I’m not sick

    Reply

  2. Rachel
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 16:49:38

    haha, Stephanie! I guess at one point I didn’t want to hear it, but now- well, like this post said, the memory of it is…. more or less gone 🙂 I’m very happy that you are not sick! (And hopeful that it stays that way for you, too!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

